Colorado Notary Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a new notary public? This is a list of our most frequently asked questions about becoming a notary
and what supplies you will need in the state of Colorado.

 

Colorado Notary Public: a person authorized to perform certain legal formalities such as acknowledgements, oaths, affirmations, depositions, affidavits, verification and copy certification. A notary can also be referred to as a signing agent. The Notary Handbook is a great reference for Colorado signing agents.

How do I become a notary in Colorado?

You must apply online and attach scanned copies of an affirmation form that has been signed and notarized, both sides of an acceptable form of identification, a notary training certificate, a notary exam certificate and both sides of your permanent resident card or visa if you are not a U.S. citizen. There will be a filing fee of $10.

Who can become a notary in Colorado?

  • Must be age 18 or older
  • Must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien
  • Must be a resident of Colorado
  • Must be able to read and write in English
  • Must not have been convicted of a felony
  • Must not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in the last five years involving dishonesty
  • Must not have any notary commissions previously revoked

Where can I practice my notary services?

Anywhere in the state of Colorado.

Who can I notarize for?

You can notarize for any member of the public who makes a sensible request and meets all the requirements for notarization.For Example: Must have proof of identity and be physically present.

What kind of training do I need?

First time notaries and those who have had an expired commission, for over 30 days, must complete a notary training course and pass the exam that is provided by the Office of the Secretary of State. You may take a course through an approved vendor or online for a fee. Otherwise a free class is offered by the Office of the Secretary of State, but a pre-registration is required and there is limited availability. For more information, call 303-894-2200 and press 4.

Do I need a bond or insurance?

A bond is not mandatory in Colorado. Errors and Omissions insurance (E&O) is NOT required, but it is recommended.

What are the upfront costs?

  • Application filing fee is $10
  • Prices of the training course can vary based on location
  • Prices on Notary Supplies may vary (Notary seal stamps and embossers)

What type of equipment will I need?

  • Notary Rubber or Stamp

A pre-inked or self-inking stamp is required to officiate all notarization. Stamp must be a rectangle with an outline or border around the following information: Notary Name, Notary Public, State of Colorado, Notary ID Number and Commission Expiration Date.

  • Notary Records Journal

It is mandatory to maintain a bound journal for your own protection because it keeps your notarization organized and makes it harder for pages to be misplaced or removed.

Should I get business cards or marketing materials?

Although not a requirement, if you believe it is helpful for your business to have these, then it is a good idea. If you work for a company as a notary singing agent, then discuss with them if this would be necessary.

Is there legal risk?

Yes, being a notary grants you certain permissions and responsibilities and there is the need for insurance which was noted earlier.

How much legal risk will I face?

Risk should be assessed on a case by case basis, but being a notary signing agent comes with the responsibility of fully understanding the risks involved. Having E&O Insurance can potentially reduce your exposure to risk.

How long does my commission last?

In Colorado a notary's commission is valid for four years.