Skip to content
Ends Soon: 15% Off Sitewide!


Delaware Notary Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a new notary public? This is a list of our most frequently asked questions about becoming a notary
and what supplies you will need in the state of Delaware


Delaware Notary Public: a person authorized to perform certain legal formalities such as taking acknowledgements, certifying or attesting copies, witnessing or attesting signatures, noting protests of negotiable instruments, taking verification and administering oaths or affirmations. A notary can also be referred to as a signing agent.

See our How to Become a Notary Infographic for an easy breakdown of the steps you will need to take.

How do I become a notary in Delaware?

You must have an email address because everything will be sent electronically. On the Secretary of State website, you must make a notary profile and submit a Notary Application. Additionally, you will need to pay $60 for an application processing fee. Once your commission certificate has been received, you will need to get the Oath of Office and supply the Secretary of State with a copy. For assistance, you can call 302-739-4111 and press 3.

Who can become a notary in Delaware?

  • Must be at least age 18
  • Must be of good character and reputation
  • Must have a reasonable need to a notary commission
  • Must be a legal resident of Delaware or have regular employment in Delaware
  • Must not have been convicted of a felony or crime involving dishonesty unless you have been pardoned with all rights restored

Where can I practice my notary services?

Anywhere in the state of Delaware.

Who can I notarize for?

You can notarize for any member of the public who makes a sensible request and meets all the requirements for notarization. For Example: Must have proof of identity and be physically present.

What kind of training do I need?

Delaware does not require an exam or course to be taken, unless you are an electronic notary. Those who will be performing electronic notarization are required to submit proof that they have completed a course on how to perform electronic notarial acts.

Do I need a bond or insurance?

A bond is not a requirement for notaries in Delaware. Errors and Omissions insurance (E&O) is optional, but it is recommended.

What are the upfront costs?

  • Filing fee to process your application is $60
  • Bond prices vary based on vendor
  • Prices on Notary Supplies may vary (Notary seal stamps and embossers)

What type of equipment will I need?

  • Notary Seal Stamp or Embosser

If you decide to use a stamp it must have black ink. When using an embosser, you will need seal impression inker to make embossing able to be reproduced. Your seal and stamp will have the following custom information: Name, Notary Public, State of Delaware and Commission Expiration Date.

  • Notary Records Journal

It is encouraged that you maintain a bound journal for your own protection because it keeps your notarization organized and makes it harder for pages to be misplaced or removed.

Should I get business cards or marketing materials?

Although not a requirement, if you believe it is helpful for your business to have these, then it is a good idea. If you work for a company as a notary singing agent, then discuss with them if this would be necessary.

Is there legal risk?

Yes, being a notary grants you certain permissions and responsibilities and there is the need for insurance which was noted earlier.

How much legal risk will I face?

Risk should be assessed on a case by case basis, but being a notary signing agent comes with the responsibility of fully understanding the risks involved. Having E&O Insurance can potentially reduce your exposure to risk.

How long does my commission last?

First time notaries will only have a commission lasting four years. Those who renew their notary appointment will have a four year commission in Delaware.