Skip to content
Spring Refresh: 15% Off Sitewide!


Nebraska Notary Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a new notary public? This is a list of our most frequently asked questions about becoming a notary
and what supplies you will need in the state of Nebraska.


Nebraska Notary Public: a person authorized to perform certain legal formalities such as taking acknowledgements, administering oath or affirmations, performing jurats, witnessing or attesting signatures, taking depositions, issuing summons and commanding witnesses for depositions in civil lawsuits. A notary can also be referred to as a signing agent.

See our How to Become a Notary Infographic for an easy breakdown of the steps you will need to take.

How can I become a notary in Nebraska?

You must pass a written take home test that you can request from the Secretary of State. When you have passed the exam, you can submit the Application for Nebraska Notary Commission for a $30 fee. With the application you must include proof of a $15,000 bond and a Citizenship Attestation form. Those who do not reside in Nebraska must also submit proof of employment.

Who can become a notary in Nebraska?

  • Must be at least 19 years of age
  • Must be residing or have regular employment Nebraska
  • Must not have any felony convictions involving fraud or dishonesty from the past five years

Where can I practice my notary services?

Anywhere in the state of Nebraska.

Who can I notarize for?

You can notarize for any member of the public who makes a sensible request and meets all the requirements for notarization. For Example: Must have proof of identity and be physically present.

What kind of training do I need?

To become a notary in Nebraska, you are required to request and pass an exam that is administered by the Secretary of State. If you fail the test twice, you must wait six months before you can request a third exam. You are only allowed to take the test three times. With a passing score, you have two years to apply for a notary commission before you need to re-take the test.

Do I need a bond or insurance?

Nebraska makes it mandatory for notaries to provide proof of a $15,000 surety bond. Errors and Omissions insurance (E&O) is NOT required, but it is recommended for your protection.

What are the upfront costs?

  • The application filing fee is $30
  • The price of the bonds and insurance will vary depending on the vendor
  • Prices on Notary Supplies may vary (Notary seal stamps and embossers)

What type of equipment will I need?

  • Notary Seal Stamp

A self-inking or pre-inked stamp is required on all notarial acts. Your stamp must include the following information: General Notary, State of Nebraska, Name and Commission Expiration Date. The image of the state capitol building is also featured on the stamp.

  • Notary Records Journal

This is not a state requirement, but it is suggested as an industry standard because it makes it harder for pages to be misplaced and keeps all notarizing secure.

Should I get business cards or marketing materials?

Although not a requirement, if you believe it is helpful for your business to have these, then it is a good idea. If you work for a company as a notary singing agent, then discuss with them if this would be necessary.

Is there legal risk?

Yes, since being a notary grants you certain permissions and responsibilities, there is also the need for insurance.

How much legal risk will I face?

Risk should be assessed on a case by case basis, but being a notary signing agent comes with the responsibility of fully understanding the risks involved. Having E&O Insurance can potentially reduce your exposure to risk.

How long does my commission last?

After four years, your Nebraska notary public commission will expire. You commission will be voided before the expiration date in the event of death, revocation or if you no longer live in Nebraska.