Free USA shipping on all orders over $70.

 

New Jersey Notary Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a new notary public? This is a list of our most frequently asked questions about becoming a notary
and what supplies you will need in the state of New Jersey.

 

New Jersey Notary Public: a person authorized to perform certain legal formalities such as: acknowledgements, jurats, oaths and affirmations, proofs of deeds and protest instruments. A notary can also be referred to as a signing agent. The New Jersey Notary Public Manual is a great reference.

See our How to Become a Notary Infographic for an easy breakdown of the steps you will need to take.

How can I become a notary in New Jersey?

Complete the Notary Public Application and include your endorsement from legislature and a $25 filing fee. If you are filing online, you will have to pay an additional $5 for a convenience fee. When you are approved, you will have three months to bring your commission certificate and oath of office to the county clerk and pay a $15 fee or your commission will be revoked. For more information, the New Jersey Department of the Treasury is a great resource for all things related to notaries.

Who can become a notary in New Jersey?

  • Must be 18 years of age or older
  • Must have a permanent residency or be regularly employed in New Jersey
  • Must have a member of the Legislature endorse you
  • Must not have been convicted of crimes of the second degree or above
  • Must not be convicted of any crime involving dishonesty

Where can I practice my notary services?

Anywhere in the state of New Jersey.

Who can I notarize for?

You can notarize for any member of the public who makes a sensible request and meets all the requirements for notarization. For Example: Must have proof of identity and be physically present.

What kind of training do I need?

There is no education or exam that is required of New Jersey notaries.

Do I need a bond or insurance?

Notaries in New Jersey are not required you to have a bond or insurance. Errors and Omissions insurance (E&O) is NOT required, but it is recommended for your protection against any claims of negligence.

What are the upfront costs?

  • The new and renewal application filing fee is $25
  • The online application filing fee is $30
  • The price of the bonds and insurance will vary depending on the vendor
  • Prices on Notary Supplies may vary (Notary seal stamps and embossers)

What type of equipment will I need?

  • There is no required equipment in New Jersey, but the following supplies are encouraged
  • Notary Seal Stamp or Embosser

Your seal and stamp will be customized with the following information: Name, Notary Public, State of New Jersey, Identification Number and My Commission Expires ____.

  • Notary Records Journal

This journal will keep all notarization secure in a bound booklet with numbered paged and a glossary of terms and procedures.

Should I get business cards or marketing materials?

Although not a requirement, if you believe it is helpful for your business to have these, then it is a good idea. If you work for a company as a notary singing agent, then discuss with them if this would be necessary.

Is there legal risk?

Yes, since being a notary grants you certain permissions and responsibilities, there is also the need for insurance.

How much legal risk will I face?

Risk should be assessed on a case by case basis, but being a notary signing agent comes with the responsibility of fully understanding the risks involved. Having E&O Insurance can potentially reduce your exposure to risk.

How long does my commission last?

Your notary public appointment will be valid for five years. You should send in an application for renewal about 90 days before your commission is expiring. The state will send a renewal package three months before your expiration date.