Skip to content
Ends Soon: 15% Off Sitewide!


Rhode Island Notary Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a new notary public? This is a list of our most frequently asked questions about becoming a notary
and what supplies you will need in the state of Rhode Island.


Rhode Island Notary Public: a person authorized to perform certain legal formalities such as: oaths and affirmations, jurats, acknowledgements, witness signatures, certify copies, protest instruments and take depositions. A notary can also be referred to as a signing agent

See our How to Become a Notary Infographic for an easy breakdown of the steps you will need to take.

How do I become a notary in Rhode Island?

Download and complete the Notary Application. Send the application and an $80 filing fee to the Secretary of State.

Who can become a notary in Rhode Island?

  • Must be age 18 or older
  • Must be a registered vote in Rhode Island
  • Can be an attorney who is a member of the Rhode Island Bar
  • Can be a non-resident who is a Certified Public Accountant in Rhode Island
  • Must be able to read and write in English
  • Must have no felony convictions

Where can I practice my notary services?

Anywhere in the state of Rhode Island.

Who can I notarize for?

You can notarize for any member of the public who makes a sensible request and meets all the requirements for notarization. For Example: Must have proof of identity and be physically present.

What kind of training do I need?

There is no exam or notary course required to become a notary in Rhode Island.

Do I need a bond or insurance?

There are no bond or insurance requirements for notaries in Rhode Island. Errors and Omissions insurance (E&O) is optional, but recommended for your protection against any claims of negligence or damages that result from misconduct.

What are the upfront costs?

  • The application filing fee is $80
  • The price of the bonds and insurance will vary depending on the vendor
  • Prices on Notary Supplies may vary (Notary seal stamps and embossers)

What type of equipment will I need?

Rhode Island does not require any supplies, but you are encouraged to obtain the following:

  • Notary Seal Stamp or Embosser

Your notary seal will include the following information: Name, Notary Public, State of Rhode Island and Commission Expiration Date.

  • Notary Records Journal

All notarization will be standardized in chronological order thanks to the durable, bound booklet with numbered paged and a glossary of terms and procedures.

Should I get business cards or marketing materials?

Although not a requirement, if you believe it is helpful for your business to have these, then it is a good idea. If you work for a company as a notary singing agent, then discuss with them if this would be necessary.

Is there legal risk?

Yes, since being a notary grants you certain permissions and responsibilities, there is also the need for insurance.

How much legal risk will I face?

Risk should be assessed on a case by case basis, but being a notary signing agent comes with the responsibility of fully understanding the risks involved. Having E&O Insurance can potentially reduce your exposure to risk.

How long does my commission last?

A notary in Rhode Island will have an active commission for four year commission. You can apply 60 days before your expiration date to be renewed.