Skip to content
Ends Soon: 15% Off Sitewide!


Wyoming Notary Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a new notary public? This is a list of our most frequently asked questions about becoming a notary
and what supplies you will need in the state of Wyoming.


Wyoming Notary Public: a person authorized to perform certain legal formalities such as: acknowledgements, jurats, signature witnessing, certify copies, verify and administer oaths and affirmations, protest negotiable instruments and perform any notarial acts authorized by state laws. A notary can also be referred to as a signing agent. The Wyoming Notary Handbook is a great reference.

See our How to Become a Notary Infographic for an easy breakdown of the steps you will need to take.

How do I become a notary in Wyoming?

Complete the Notary Application form and mail it to the Secretary of State with a $60 fee. Once you obtain a $500 surety bond, you will have to file it with the county clerk and take an oath of office within 60 days from receiving your official commission. There will be a $14 filing fee for your commission with the county clerk.

Who can become a notary in Wyoming?

  • Must be age 18 or older
  • Must be a resident of county in Wyoming that you are applying to
  • Must not have any felony convictions
  • Must be able to read and write in English

Where can I practice my notary services?

Anywhere in the state of Wyoming or Montana.

Who can I notarize for?

You can notarize for any member of the public who makes a sensible request and meets all the requirements for notarization. For Example: Must have proof of identity and be physically present.

What kind of training do I need?

Wyoming notaries do not need to take a test or course. There is a voluntary test available from the Secretary of State to help you feel more prepared for your notary duties.

Do I need a bond or insurance?

Wyoming notaries must obtain a $500 surety bond. Your commission will not be valid until this is obtained and filed with the county clerk.

Errors and Omissions insurance (E&O) is optional, but recommended for your protection against any claims of negligence or damages that result from misconduct.

What are the upfront costs?

  • The application filing fee is $30 Surety bond filing fee of $14
  • The price of the bonds and insurance will vary depending on the vendor
  • Prices on Notary Supplies may vary (Notary seal stamps and embossers)

What type of equipment will I need?

  • Notary Seal Stamp or Embosser

Your notary seal is customized with: Name, Notary Public, County, State of Wyoming, Commission Expiration Date and the image of the Great Seal of the State of Wyoming. If it is round it cannot be more than 2" in diameter. If it is rectangular, it cannot be larger than 3/4" x 2 1/2" in size. A serrated bored it needed.

  • Notary Records Journal

This is not a requirement, but strongly encouraged because it allows you to keep all notarial acts in chronological order with numbered paged and a glossary of terms and procedures.

Should I get business cards or marketing materials?

Although not a requirement, if you believe it is helpful for your business to have these, then it is a good idea. If you work for a company as a notary singing agent, then discuss with them if this would be necessary.

Is there legal risk?

Yes, since being a notary grants you certain permissions and responsibilities, there is also the need for insurance.

How much legal risk will I face?

Risk should be assessed on a case by case basis, but being a notary signing agent comes with the responsibility of fully understanding the risks involved. Having E&O Insurance can potentially reduce your exposure to risk.

How long does my commission last?

Wyoming notary commissions will be effective for four years. Your commission can be renewed six weeks before your term expires.