Oregon Notary Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a new notary public? This is a list of our most frequently asked questions about becoming a notary
and what supplies you will need in the state of Oregon.

 

Oregon Notary Public: a person authorized to perform certain legal formalities such as: acknowledgements, certify copies, witness or attest signatures, administer and verify oaths and affirmations, protest instruments and any other notarial act that can be performed by a notary according to the laws in Oregon. A notary can also be referred to as a signing agent.

See our How to Become a Notary Infographic for an easy breakdown of the steps you will need to take.

How can I become a notary in Oregon?

You must complete notary training and successfully pass an exam through the Secretary of State's online system. Once those have been completed, you can complete the Notary Public Application. Send an oath of office and application fee of $40 within 30 days from your commission approval.

Who can become a notary in Oregon?

  • Must be age 18 or older
  • Must be residing or employed in Oregon
  • Must not have any felony convictions involving fraud, dishonesty or deceit from the past 10 years
  • Must pass a criminal background check
  • Must not have had a commission revoked in the past 10 years
  • Must be capable of reading and writing in English

Where can I practice my notary services?

Anywhere in the state of Oregon.

Who can I notarize for?

You can notarize for any member of the public who makes a sensible request and meets all the requirements for notarization. For Example: Must have proof of identity and be physically present.

What kind of training do I need?

Oregon requires all new and inactive notaries to take a notary training course. The Secretary of State offers a course at no charge, but you are able to take a course from an approved vendor for a fee. Renewing notaries do not need to take a class, but they must pass an online notary exam before they can submit an application for reappointment.

Do I need a bond or insurance?

A bond is not a state necessity for Oregon notaries. Errors and Omissions insurance (E&O) is optional, but recommended for your protection against any claims of negligence.

What are the upfront costs?

  • The application filing fee is $40
  • Courses and exam prices vary based on vendor
  • The price of the bonds and insurance will vary depending on the vendor
  • Prices on Notary Supplies may vary (Notary seal stamps and embossers)

What type of equipment will I need?

  • Notary Seal Stamp

Your pre-inked or self-inking stamp will be customized with the following text: Official Stamp, Name, Notary Public - Oregon, Commission No. ____ and My Commission Expires____. The image of the State of Oregon Seal 1859 is also on the stamp.

  • Notary Records Journal

All notarization will be standardized and secure in a durable, bound booklet with numbered paged and a glossary of terms and procedures.

Should I get business cards or marketing materials?

Although not a requirement, if you believe it is helpful for your business to have these, then it is a good idea. If you work for a company as a notary singing agent, then discuss with them if this would be necessary.

Is there legal risk?

Yes, since being a notary grants you certain permissions and responsibilities, there is also the need for insurance.

How much legal risk will I face?

Risk should be assessed on a case by case basis, but being a notary signing agent comes with the responsibility of fully understanding the risks involved. Having E&O Insurance can potentially reduce your exposure to risk.

How long does my commission last?

A notary commission in Oregon lasts for four years. You can reapply to be reappointed two and a half months prior to your notary expiration.